Community Outreach

A 6th century mosaic of :en:Jesus at Church Sa...
Image via Wikipedia

How do you define Community Outreach?  Throwing change in a cup? Volunteering at a shelter?  Serving meals at a soup kitchen? Influencing social change through advocacy and example? Growing a Mustachio? I believe and practice community outreach through individual and organized efforts.  As promised to my friends and constituents I am posting some of my favorite references/tools that people tell me are most effective.

may God add a blessing to the readers of this post.

Prayer
Heavenly Father, thank you that Jesus came to heal the brokenhearted and bind their wounds.  I ask you to give me strength and hope, beauty for ashes, and joy for mourning.  Lord, I ask you to heal me from all past abuse and protect me from future abuse.  Help me to forgive ever

yone who has hurt me in any way, in Jesus’ name.

Isaiah 40:29-31

He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might He increases strength…Those who wait on the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.

I John 1:9
If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

John 8:36

Square and Compass

Square and Compass

Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.

Romans 13:14
But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill its lusts.

Prayer
Heavenly Father, I confess to you that I am in bondage to ____.  Lord, I ask for your forgiveness and that you would cleanse me and make me right with you and renew a right spirit within me.  I ask for greater strength to resist every temptation and to live righteously for you.  I believe I receive that strength and freedom now, in the name of Jesus.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
~ by vwbora25 on 11/15/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
